Overview

Access Groups control which folders a specific user can access. Assign users to access groups using the Manage Users function.

The Access Groups function is located in the administration tools menu.

User Interface

addaccessgroup.png Add Access Group Add a new access group
renameaccessgroup.png Edit Access Group Change the name of an access group and control permissions (e.g. Export to Excel or Publish).
deleteaccessgroup.png Delete Access Group Delete the selected access group
addfolder.png Add Folder to Group Add a folder to an access group
removefolder.png Remove Folder Remove a folder from an access group
lockfolder.png Lock Folder Lock/Unlock a folder. Locked folders cannot be modified by read/write users (only by administrators)

Adding an Access Group

To add an access group:

  1. Select the Manage Groups menu item from the administration tools menu.
  2. Click the Add Access Group button addaccessgroup.png.
  3. Name the Access Group.
  4. Click the Add Folder button to add one or more folder to the access group addfolder.png.
  5. Click OK.
  6. Select the Manager Users menu item from the administration tools menu.
  7. Select a user (using the checkbox)
  8. Click the Update button to modify a user record edituser.png
  9. Select an Access Group.
  10. Click OK.

Access Group Options

The following options are available:

  • Enable export to excel - Allows user to export any chart data to Excel sheet. By default this option is disabled.
  • Enable row level security - Contact technical support to configure this option
  • Update chart templates and box styles - Allows user to modify chart and box styles
  • Limit chart access to self + subordinates - Users in this group are restricted to view only their own branch in charts that are configured to implement this restriction.

Tips and Tricks

  • If an access group is deleted, all users assigned to that access group will no longer have access to any folders.
  • Be careful when granting access to the 'Trash' folder as it may contain sensitive data.
  • Make sure to lock the folder containing your production charts (so that read/write users cannot accidentally modify).


Reviewed 08/20/2017